What Paolo Eats

Feria, Radisson Blu

with 10 comments

Many people aren’t aware of this, but the hotel across SM (yes, the one that’s been standing there unloved for years and yes, the one where quite a number of people died during construction), Radisson Blue, is actually already open. What people also aren’t aware of is that Radisson’s restaurant Feria (which is Latin for “free day”, when there was no work and feasts commenced) serves a killer buffet.

Radissons’ humongous lobby

The lounge, where there are two small black pools that are definitely not for swimming

I first heard of Feria from the one and only furniture designer/photographer/*insert artistic & creative job title here* Vito Selma (HA HA hi Vit!), who posted the most appetizing picture of chili crabs on Twitter. Being the insatiably hungry person that I am, I asked him where this Feria place was and made it personal short-term goal to eat there soon. As it turned out, Vito designed the divider that separated the Japanese station from the rest of the restaurant.

Exactly one week ago (this is a VERY late post, and I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me for taking so long to blog), my Lola, who I partly convinced by telling her that my friend designed the divider heehee, and I went to Raddison to eat at Feria. My brother, on the other hand, who is supposedly on a diet, went to have lunch all by himself at SM instead.

The divider Vito designed

Here’s my second of VERY many plates. I forgot to take a picture of my plateful of appetizers – there were so many salads and cheeses and cold cuts to chose from. Clockwise from the bottom: Yang Chow fried rice, pork and shrimp siomai, a single piece of Japanese siomai, mussels, and a seafood and vegetable dish in turmeric sauce.

I love Japanese food. I ate much more sashimi and maki than what you see in this picture. I wish there was tempura, though, which was nowhere to be found in the buffet.

I believe this was either my third or fourth plate of food – carbonara with HUUUGE pieces of bacon, lamb, and a slice of duck pizza. I know duck pizza doesn’t sound appetizing, but trust me, it tasted fantastic! Thanks to Vito for the tip. He told me to make sure to ask for duck pizza – they don’t serve it on the buffet, but you can have one made if you ask.

The duck pizza – I only managed to eat one slice of this, to my ultimate regret. I was about to burst by the time this arrived.

Another thing Vito told me to have cooked – CHILI CRABS. I had completely forgotten that I had asked for this dish. I was doing my best to finish my slice of duck pizza when the crabs arrived, and I was taking things slowly at that point, so that I would have room for the crabs. My grandmother, however, for fear of being charged double if we had leftovers, said that she didn’t really like crabs but that we would just take time to devour all the food in front of us.

I was halfway through my slice of pizza when she finished eating the first crab. By the time only a quarter of my pizza slice was left, Lola had already finished her second crab. When I finally managed to stuff the last bite of my pizza into my mouth, Lola had finished ALL the crabs. As in none left for me. HAHAHAHA. I take it they were good though, considering my grandmother didn’t even leave me a single crab leg.

As full as I was, I had to make sure to try out their dessert. That’s vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup & nuts and raspberry cheesecake. I’m not a fan of cheesecake, but this was utterly delicious! And the ice cream, to no surprise, was good as well.

I swear I cannot remember a time when I felt fuller. I didn’t even get to try all the dishes in the buffet! That’s how full I was, and that’s how much food there is in their buffet. I have been recommending Feria to all of my friends. To be completely honest, I even like their buffet more that the ones Marco Polo and Cafe Uno in Waterfront serve. It may be pricey, but it’s well worth it.

What Paolo Thinks:

 

 

 

Written by paoloberdin

November 2, 2010 at 7:35 am

Posted in Buffet

Tagged with , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. holy guacamole.. i should try that place out. ๐Ÿ˜€

    ching

    November 2, 2010 at 8:06 am

  2. oh nooooooooooo

    now im craving for duck pizza! hahaha :p

    jamie

    November 2, 2010 at 8:35 am

  3. I hate you, Pao. this entry is making me salivate like crazy! everything looks delish esp the sashimi and chilli crabs!

    ps: good job adding the “what paolo thinks” in the end!

    Mikey Sanchez

    November 2, 2010 at 9:20 am

    • haha! the chili crabs i didn’t get to taste =/ haha thanks, mike!

      paoloberdin

      November 2, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  4. hey pao! whey referred this site to me kay naintriga pud siya about you saying its better than marco polo. it does sound/look good. tag pila? ๐Ÿ™‚

    tara

    November 2, 2010 at 6:56 pm

  5. Tagpila? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Deliha

    November 3, 2010 at 12:18 pm

  6. weee.. good luck to us all in cebu best blogs

    karlota

    November 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm


Leave a Reply

